The Mind Needs to be Occupied

One thing about meditation and withdrawal is the lack of stimulus. There’s nothing left to draw upon except yourself. This can be confronting.

It points to an important feature of the mind: it exists to process things.

“Everyone complains about work when they have lots of stuff to do. One thing I’ve realized is that work is at its worst when there’s NOTHING to do. I thought back to the 3 days Matt and Ramona were out a few weeks ago. Each day seemed longer and longer, because by Friday there was literally no work left to do.”

Busy Work Is Good Work

2 Responses to “The Mind Needs to be Occupied”

  1. rjlight Says:

    I can’t stand not having anything to do–it drives me insane! At the same time it is nice to stop and reflect sometimes…

  2. rachelcreative Says:

    TAG – you’re it!!

    I love your blog and I thought you might get something out of doing this …

    I’m tagging you to take part in an internet meme – a project to share your personal habits for your success.

    If you have the time and inclination to participate that would be great. I for one would love to read what works for you 🙂

    Read more about how this project works and what to do here -> http://todayisthatday.com/blog/simply-successful-secrets

    And you can read my top ten secrets here -> http://rachelcreative.wordpress.com/2007/03/31/simply-successful-secrets/


Leave a comment